What Lies Beneath

My friend and fellow writer Loren Eaton hosts the Shared Storytelling: Advent Ghosts every year at Christmastime. The rules are simple: tell a spooky Christmas Themed Story in exactly 100 words, no more, no less!

Here is my contribution for 2023. Be sure to check back on and after December 21st to see what his assembled crew of storytellers have created!

And here they are!

http://isawlightningfall.blogspot.com/2023/12/advent-ghosts-2023-stories.html

Like a ghost, the image before him was a mystery. An image appeared, but his brain refused to acknowledge it.

There was a mass here, a spot there, black where there should have been white and an outline that resembled part of the human anatomy. For the life of him he could not make sense of it all.

“What does it mean?” he asked the expert, who stood confidently in front of the image.

“I’m very sorry, Bob, but it’s malignant.”

“But it’s nearly Christmas.”

The image became clear. The Spirit of Christmas Yet To Come was on the screen.

5 thoughts on “What Lies Beneath

  1. So my father was diagnosed with a glioblastoma while I was on my honeymoon, and the discovery process of what was going on with him was something like this. Hits close to home. Very well done.

    Like

  2. This is the best/worst kind of horror. The best to read, the worst to experience.

    I’m sorry to read in your comments that it’s non-fiction. I hope your story has a happy ending.

    Like

    1. Thank you Patrick, it’s only based on a true story. My father got a similar scare and died less than a year later at my age, 61. I going to Boston for a second opinion after finding “nodule” in my lung, very unlikely it is actually malignant. Just being extra careful, and thanks again!

      Like

Leave a comment