The Step Family

It has been said that our only purpose in life is to create life, and pass on our DNA. Those of us who fail to accomplish this task will cease to exist as soon as we stop breathing, while those who reproduced will enjoy eternal life, in one form or another, depending on whether or not their offspring keeps the life rolling.

I actually believed it for far too long, and secetly worried that I failed as a human being because life had other plans for me.

I had been told that I would never experience true love until I held the miracle of creation that I helped produce in my arms. And I believed it, and thought the love I felt for my step-family was somehow lacking.

Fortunately, I have lived long enough to learn the truth. The real miracle of everlasting life is in the connections we make, and maintain, the words we speak and the lives we lead. And love is life, and it is eternal. And I will love this little family of mine forever.

Leave a comment